skip to Main Content

Reviews

Read the results of our online survey. Patients were asked about their experience with the floater laser treatment.

Erfahrung eines Patienten, der nach einem Autounfall mit Glaskörpertrübungen konfrontiert wurde und sich nach erfolgreicher Floater-Laser-Behandlung wie neugeboren fühlt:

Nach einem Autounfall im Juli 2007 wurde ich mit Glaskörpertrübungen bzw. Floaters konfrontiert. Mein Augenarzt sagte mir, dass ich lernen müsste, damit zu leben: "Im Laufe der Zeit werden Sie sich daran gewöhnen und nehmen Sie sie nicht mehr oder kaum noch wahr...", war seine Bemerkung.

Leider traf dies nicht auf mich zu und wurde ich “verrückt” von den Dingern. Auch zwei weitere Konsultationen bei zwei anderen Augenärzten ergaben nichts: eine Vitrektomie wäre möglich gewesen, aber aufgrund der Tatsache, dass ich nur ein gutes Auge habe, war es keine Option, denn natürlich kann immer etwas schief gehen. Mit anderen Worten, ich musste lernen, damit zu leben.......

Die Floaters hatten Einfluss auf mein ganzes Wohlbefinden: Ich wurde mürrisch, lustlos und lag fast jeden Abend um 21.00 Uhr im Bett. Ich sah es oft buchstäblich und im übertragenen Sinne nicht mehr!

Anfang Februar 2011 fand ich im Internet einen Artikel über Dr. Feike Gerbrandy von der Augenklinik Zonnestraal in Hilversum. Er hielt eine Präsentation am 18. Februar 2011 mit dem Titel "Der YAG Floater-Laser ist effektiv und sicher genug, um als Behandlung der ersten Wahl für Glaskörpertrübungen herangezogen zu werden'. Ich habe dann direkt per E-Mail Kontakt aufgenommen. Das war so unkompliziert und einfach, dass ich sofort einen Termin gemacht hatte. Am 10. und 28. März hatte ich eine YAG-Laserbehandlung mit einem fantastischen Ergebnis! Obwohl nicht alle Floater weg sind, fühle ich mich wie neugeboren! Die Floater, die noch da sind, können wahrscheinlich in Kürze behandelt werden: Dr. Gerbrandy will ein weiteres YAG-Lasergerät kaufen, das auch Floater treffen kann, die sehr tief in der Augenflüssigkeit schwimmen. Sobald das Gerät da ist, komme ich auch.

PP (Johann Schmid)

Ein Brief eines dankbaren Patienten aus Oss, Niederlande, an vier Augenärzte, die nicht wussten, dass eine Laserbehandlung möglich war:

Sehr geehrter Dr. T.,

Gerne möchte ich Sie auf Folgendes aufmerksam machen. Es geht um eine Behandlungsmethode für Glaskörpertrübungen mit dem YAG-Laser. In den USA wird die Behandlungsmethode seit mehr als 20 Jahren angewendet und nun, seit September 2009, auch von einem Augenarzt in den Niederlanden, nämlich. Dr. F. Gerbrandy.

Ich selbst wurde in nur zwei Behandlungen erfolgreich vom sogenannten Weiss-Ring in beiden Augen befreit. Mein Sichtfeld ist wieder klar. Dies wurde während einer Untersuchung im Krankenhaus Bernhoven in OSS bestätigt.

Bei Patienten mit Glaskörpertrübungen bietet diese Behandlungsmethode mit dem YAG-Laser die Möglichkeit, Ihre Situation zu verbessern.

Es ist klar, dass Sicherheit und Wirksamkeit noch nicht offiziell in wissenschaftlichen Publikationen ausgewiesen wurden. In den letzten 20 Jahren wurden in den USA Tausende von Patienten erfolgreich behandelt, aber in Ermangelung an wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen wird dies immer noch als experimentell angesehen.

Was will ich mit diesem Brief erreichen?

Mein Wunsch ist, dass in den Niederlanden Patienten mit Glaskörpertrübungen über die Existenz der Behandlung mit dem YAG-Laser informiert werden. Patienten können dann selbst entscheiden, ob sie sich einer Behandlung unterziehen möchten, wenn möglich, selbst, wenn Sie es als behandelnder Arzt nicht empfehlen.

Ich möchte gerne anmerken, dass ein Leben mit Glaskörpertrübungen erhebliche Veränderung in das tägliche Funktionieren bringt, und lernen damit zu leben ist für die Meisten nicht einfach.

Hochachtungsvoll und mit freundlichen Grüßen,

M.B. Mulders
Oss

Erfahrung eines Patienten, der über Patientenforen aus Kanada für erfolgreiche Behandlung angereist kam:

Der 67-jährige Ton Reuvers, geboren in den Niederlanden und seit 46 Jahren wohnhaft in Kanada, wo er vor seiner Pensionierung als "Environmental Manager" arbeitete, hatte mehr als ein Jahr die sogenannten "Floater": Sich bewegende, diffuse Flecken im Bild. Die Beschwerden waren dermaßen schlimm, dass eine Glaskörperoperation (Vitrektomie) erwogen wurde. Da er fand, dass dies ein extremer Eingriff war, suchte Herr Reuvers nach alternativen Behandlungsmöglichkeiten. Die gab es in Kanada nicht. Über ein Patienten-Forum im Internet (www.floaterlaser.com) landete er bei Augenarzt Feike Gerbrandy. Lesen Sie den Brief von Ton Reuvers: Kanadier kommt speziell zu Dr. Gerbrandy für eine Floater-Laserbehandlung (PDF)

The 67-year-old Ton Reuvers, born in the Netherlands had been living in Canada for the past 46 years where he worked as "Environmental Manager" before his retirement, He had been suffering from "floaters" for over a year. The complaints became so disturbing that a vitreous operation (vitrectomy) was considered. Because he thought that was too much, Mr. Reuvers went looking for alternative treatment options. They did not appear to be offered in Canada. Through a patient forum on the internet (www.floaterlaser.nl) he ended up with ophthalmologist Feike Gerbrandy.

Mister Reuvers:
"My Dutch descent and the excellent reputation of Eye Clinic Zonnestraal made it attractive to receive treatment in the Netherlands. We decided to mix "business" with pleasure and extended our stay to visit family. Partly because the treatments at Eye Clinic Zonnestraal in Lelystad ran so smoothly, we can look back on a very pleasant stay in the Netherlands."

Can you describe the complaints you experienced?
Reuvers: "My vision was troubled by a dark web and ring-shaped fragments, and some kind of clouds that constantly drifted across my vision. It was annoying when reading, using the computer and driving my car."

How did you experience the treatment?
Reuvers: "I had read up in advance and therefore the treatment didn't hold any surprises for me. The treatment itself was painless and lasted about 30 minutes per treatment due to the large number of floaters. I could notice the difference as soon as the effects of the anesthetic drops had worn off."

Ophthalmologist Gerbrandy:
“Mr. Reuvers was greatly bothered by his complaints. He scored an 8 on the so-called Severity Scale, a complaint rate from 1 to 10 (1 standing for no trouble, 10 for extreme trouble). After 1 laser treatment his score was down to 4 and he was treated a second time. After the second treatment his score was as low as 2,5. This is a good result."

Gerbrandy on the technique: "Floater laser is a difficult technique to master. I have applied this technique for one and a half year now and the results keep getting better. On average, 92% of the treated patients experience so much improvement that they are no longer suffering.

About 5% of the laser-treated patients do not recover adequately and have to get surgery after all. Usually the cause lies in the floaters being too extensive or out of range for the laser. A floater laser holds far lower risks and complication rates than surgery. Unlike during surgery, the eye is not opened during a laser treatment, excluding the chance of infection. The chance of cataract is very small (<0.5% in contrast to almost 100% after surgery). The chance of retinal detachment is nil, while it can rise to 9% after surgery.

Moreover, the recovery period is negligible: except for driving a car for the first few hours after treatment, patients will be able to function fully immediately. These advantages are sufficient reason for floater laser to be the treatment of first choice in case of bothersome vitreous floaters. In those cases this is not possible, surgery is a considerable option", says Gerbrandy.

How do patients find you?
“Patiënten from all over the world find me through patient forums such as  www.floaterforum.nlwww.glasvochttroebe.forum2go.nlwww.floaterlaser.nl and, like Mer. Reuvers mentioned, through info@floaterlaser.nl. All emails with information requests will be answered by me personally.

What exactly are “floaters”?
In the center of the eye in between eye and retina you will find vitreous fluid. 98% of this consists of water, the rest is mostly protein. This protein may form strings or lumps that may obstruct vision. There are different terms for these spots (vitreous floaters, mouches volantes or floaters). A floater is a haze within the eye, projected onto the retina like a shadow.

People experience their floaters as moving hazy spots within the observed image. The complaints may be troubling enough to consider removing the floaters by means of surgery or a - less burdensome - YAG laser treatment.

How does treatment work?
The patient is placed in sitting position, chin and forehead leaning against a support, similar to the setting for an eye test. The ophthalmologist then uses a lens to view the area to be treated and removes the floaters. Because the eye is anaesthetised with eye drops, the patient does not feel a thing. The laser treatment takes place in an outpatient manner and will take from 10 to 30 minutes. Usually the floaters cannot be removed in one go, so follow-up treatment (sometimes more than once) will have to be scheduled.

In some instances new floaters may emerge, which can be treated again.

To conclude with Mr. Reuvers, from Canada:
"I am satisfied with the result, the treatment has caused a considerable improvement of my quality of life. I wholeheartedly commend ophthalmologist Gerbrandy and his team: "I am very glad he has managed to free me of my symptoms entirely with this technique. "

The story of a patient who was faced with eye floaters after a car crash, and who feels reborn after successful floater laser treatment:

Following a car crash in July 2007, I was faced with vitreous floaters. My ophthalmologist told me I would just have to learn to live with it: "After a while you'll be used to them and you'll hardly even notice them, if at all", he said.

Unfortunately, this didn't work out for me, it drove me "nuts". Two consultations with other ophthalmologists did not really get me anywhere either: a vitrectomy was a possibility except that I only have 1 functioning eye, as there is always the possibility of something going wrong. In other words: I just had to learn to live with it...

The mouches impacted my entire wellbeing: I became grumpy, listless and would turn in every night at around 9PM. Often I literally couldn't see a way out!

Beginning of February 2007, I came across an article on Dr. feike Gerbrandy from eye clinic Zonnestraal in Hilversum: on February 18th he would hold a lecture with the title "YAG floater laser is effective and safe enough to be the treatment of first choice for vitreous floaters".

I reached out to him by email right away, which went so smooth and easy I instantly made an appointment. On March 10 and 28 I underwent YAG laser treatment with great result! Although not all floaters have gone, I feel reborn! The floaters that are still there may be able to be treated as well, as Dr. Gerbrandy intends to acquire another YAG laser device which may also be able to reach floaters that are quite deep inside the vitreous fluid. As soon as this device gets there, I will be there too."

PP (Johann Schmid)

Letter from a grateful patient from Oss, addressed to four Dutch ophthalmologists who were unaware of the possibility of laser treatment:

Dear Dr. T.,

I would like draw your attention to the following. This concerns a form of treatment of floaters with the Yag-laser. In the USA this method of treatment has been applied for over 20 years, and since 2009 it is applied by one Doctor in The Netherlands, namely Dr. F. Gerbrandy.

I myself have been successfully liberated from the so called Weiss Ring in both eyes. My vision is clear again. This has been confirmed after testing in Bernhoven Hospital in Oss, the Netherlands.

For patients who suffer from floaters this method of treatment with the Yag-laser offers an opportunity to improve their situation.

It is clear that safety and effectiveness have not yet been proven in scientific publications. Over the past 20 years, thousands of patients have been treated successfully in the USA, but in the absence of scientific evidence this is still deemed experimental.

What do I wish to achieve with this letter?  

It is my wish that patients suffering from floaters will be made aware of the existence of treatment with the Yag-laser, enabling them to decide for themselves whether or not to undergo the treatment if possible - even when you, as their treating doctor, have not yet advised them to.

Finally, I would like to point out that floaters have a major impact on one's daily life, and not for everyone is equipped to learn to live with this.

Sincerely and with kind regards,

M.B. Mulders
Oss

Ervaring van patient die na een auto-ongeluk geconfronteerd werd met oogfloaters en zich na succesvolle floaterlaser behandeling herboren voelt:

Vanaf juli 2007 werd ik, na een auto-ongeluk, geconfronteerd met mouches volantes cq floaters. Mijn oogarts deelde mij mee dat ik er maar mee moest leren leven: “Na verloop van tijd ben je er aan gewend en ervaar je ze niet of nauwelijks meer…..”, was zijn opmerking.

Dit ging voor mij helaas niet op, ik werd er ‘gek’ van. Ook consulten bij 2 andere oogartsen leverden in feite niets op: een vitrectomie operatie behoorde wel tot de mogelijkheden, maar was vanwege het feit dat ik maar 1 goed oog heb geen optie, daar er natuurlijk altijd wel wat mis kan gaan. M.a.w. ik moest er wel mee leren leven…….

De mouches hadden impact op mijn gehele welzijn: ik werd chagrijnig, lusteloos en lag bijna elke avond omstreeks 21.00 uur in bed. Ik zag het vaak letterlijk en figuurlijk niet meer zitten!

Begin februari 2011 vond ik op internet een artikel over Dr. Feike Gerbrandy van het oogziekenhuis Zonnestraal te Hilversum: hij zou op 18 februari een presentatie geven met de titel “YAG floaterlaser is effective and safe enough to be the treatment of first choice for vitreous floaters`. Ik heb toen via de mail direct contact gezocht. Dit ging zo gemakkelijk en laagdrempelig dat ik direct een afspraak heb gemaakt. Op 10 en 28 maart heb ik een YAG laserbehandeling gehad met een geweldig resultaat! Hoewel niet alle floaters zijn verdwenen, ben ik herboren! De floaters die er nog zitten kunnen waarschijnlijk in de nabije toekomst ook nog behandeld worden: Dr Gerbrandy wil namelijk nog een ander YAG laserapparaat aanschaffen dat ook floaters kan raken die erg diep in het oogvocht zitten. Zodra dat apparaat binnen is, ben ik er ook.

PP  (Johann Schmid)

Brief van een dankbare patiente uit Oss aan vier Nederlandse oogartsen, die niet wisten dat een laserbehandeling mogelijk was:

Geachte dr. T,

Graag vraag ik uw aandacht voor het volgende. Het betreft een behandelmethode voor floaters met de Yag-laser. In de USA wordt de behandelmethode al ruim 20 jaar toegepast en nu, sinds september 2009, ook in Nederland door één oogarts, nl. dr. F. Gerbrandy.

Zelf ben ik, in twee behandelsessies, succesvol bevrijd van de z.g. Weiss ring in beide ogen. Mijn gezichtsveld is weer helder. Dit is bevestigd na onderzoek in het ZH Bernhoven te Oss.

Voor patiënten met floaters biedt deze behandelmethode met de Yag-laser een mogelijkheid om verbetering in hun situatie te brengen.

Duidelijk is dat veiligheid en effectiviteit nog niet officieel zijn aangetoond in wetenschappelijke publicaties. Er zijn de afgelopen 20 jaar in de USA wel duizenden patiënten succesvol behandeld maar dat wordt bij gebrek aan wetenschappelijk bewijs nog als experimenteel gezien.

Wat wil ik bereiken met deze brief?

Mijn wens is dat patiënten met floaters op de hoogte worden gesteld van het bestaan van de behandeling met de Yag-laser in Nederland. Patiënten kunnen dan zélf beslissen of zij zich, indien mogelijk, daadwerkelijk laten behandelen, ook als u als behandelend arts dit nog niet adviseert.

Rest mij alleen nog aan om te geven dat het hebben van floaters een behoorlijke wissel trekt op je dagelijks functioneren, er mee leren leven is niet voor iedereen weggelegd.

Hoogachtend en met vriendelijke groet,

M.B. Mulders
Oss

De 67-jarige Ton Reuvers, geboren in Nederland en sinds 46 jaar woonachtig in Canada waar hij voor zijn pensionering werkzaam was als “Environmental Manager”, had ruim een jaar last van zogenaamde “floaters”: bewegende wazige vlekken in het beeld. De klachten werden dermate storend, dat een glasvochtoperatie (vitrectomie) werd overwogen. Omdat hij dat een te grote ingreep vond ging de heer Reuvers op zoek naar alternatieve behandelmogelijkheden. Die bleken er in Canada niet te zijn. Via een patiëntenforum op internet (www.floaterlaser.com) kwam hij terecht bij oogarts Feike Gerbrandy.

De heer Reuvers:
"Mijn Nederlandse afkomst en de uitstekende reputatie van Oogziekenhuis Zonnestraal maakte een behandeling in Nederland aantrekkelijk. We besloten het nuttige met het aangename te verenigen en ons verblijf te verlengen om familie te bezoeken. Mede doordat de behandelingen bij Oogziekenhuis Zonnestraal in Lelystad zo voorspoedig verliepen, kunnen we terugkijken op een zeer prettig verblijf in Nederland.”

Kunt u de klachten die u ondervond beschrijven?
Reuvers: “Mijn gezichtsbeeld werd verstoord door een donker web en ringvormige fragmenten en een soort wolkjes die zich voortdurend in mijn gezichtsbeeld bewogen. Dat was hinderlijk bij het lezen, computergebruik en autorijden.”

Hoe heeft u de behandeling ervaren?
Reuvers: “Ik had me van te voren uitvoerig ingelezen en de behandeling was dan ook zonder verrassingen. De behandeling zelf was pijnloos en duurde bij mij, vanwege het grote aantal floaters, ongeveer 30 minuten per behandeling. Het resultaat was, na de uitwerking van de verdovingsdruppels, direct merkbaar.”

Oogarts Gerbrandy:
“De heer Reuvers ondervond veel hinder van zijn klachten. Op de zogenaamde Floater Severity Scale, een klachtenschaal van 1 tot 10 (waarbij 1 staat voor geen last en 10 voor heel veel last) scoorde hij 8. Na 1 laserbehandeling was dit teruggebracht naar 4 en is hij voor een 2e keer behandeld. Na de 2e Floaterlaser scoort hij slechts een 2.5. Dat is een goed resultaat.” Gerbrandy over de techniek: “Floaterlaser is een lastige techniek om onder de knie te krijgen. Ik pas deze techniek nu ruim 1,5 jaar toe en de resultaten worden steeds beter. Gemiddeld ondervindt 92 % van de patiënten die behandeld zijn dermate verbetering, dat men er geen last meer van heeft.

Een kleine 5 % van de met de laser behandelde patiënten knapt onvoldoende op en dient alsnog te worden geopereerd. De oorzaak is meestal dat de floaters te uitgebreid waren of zich buiten bereik van de laser bevonden. Een floaterlaser heeft veel minder risico’s en complicaties dan een operatie. Anders dan bij een operatie wordt bij een laserbehandeling het oog niet geopend dus is er geen kans op infectie. De kans op staar is erg klein (< 0,5% in tegenstelling tot bijna 100 % na operatie). De kans op een netvliesloslating is nihil terwijl dat na een operatie kan oplopen tot 9 %.

Bovendien is de herstelperiode te verwaarlozen: op autorijden de eerste paar uur na, kan een patiënt direct na de behandeling weer volledig functioneren. Deze voordelen maken dat een floaterlaser de behandeling van 1e keus zou moeten worden bij storende glasvochttroebelingen. In die gevallen waar het niet mogelijk is kan dan een operatie overwogen worden”, aldus Gerbrandy.

Tot slot de heer Reuvers, vanuit Canada:
“Ik ben tevreden met het resultaat, de behandeling heeft mijn kwaliteit van leven aanzienlijk verbeterd. Alle lof voor oogarts Gerbrandy en zijn team: ik ben blij dat hij mij met deze techniek vrijwel volledig van mijn klachten heeft kunnen afhelpen.”

FLOATERS/MOUCHES VOLANTES

People with floaters (mouches volantes) see one or more spots floating in their vision. Depending on where they are located, a floater can hinder daily life. You can get used to some floaters, while others can be highly intrusive.

THE TREATMENT

You can go to the OMC Amstelland ophthalmic clinic for cataract surgery or treatment of eye floaters. All treatments take place in the form of a day treatment and take place in our eye clinic in Diemen.

RATES

The Healthcare Institution Netherlands (Zorginstituut Nederland) has decided that floater laser treatment can not be offered as insured healthcare. We can only offer the treatment as uninsured care.

gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-137736572-1'); Back To Top